Finding Articles ...: Scholarly, Peer-reviewed Articles

What makes an article scholarly or peer-reviewed? 

Description:  Common characteristics of scholarly articles found in peer-reviewed journals:

• Articles are written for the professional in the field using the language of the field
• Articles are supported by many reference citations
• Peer-reviewed journals have minimal advertising and graphics
• Scholarly articles are selected through a peer-review or jury process
• Articals often present evidence based on scientific inquiry

What is the peer-review process?

Process:  Peer-review (Juried) Process - Description

•  Article is submitted to a jury of peers for review and comment
• Article may be returned to author for additional analysis and revision
• Article may be rejected
• Published article provides quality, credible information

Following the directions below will get you to the full-text of scholarly articles available to you through the EBSCO database.

• Once logged into MyGranite, click on the GSC Library tab
• Go to 'GSC Research Databases' and click on EBSCO databases
• If you need the username and password, they can be found on the GSC Library tab once you are logged into MyGranite
• Check the box by the databases you want to search.  For this course, always select Academic Search Premier, Education Research Complete, PsycARTICLES, and PsycINFO
• Read the description of other databases and check them if needed
• Click 'Continue'
• On the next screen, check 'Full Text' and put a checkmark next to Scholarly (peer-reviewed) Journals
• Type your keywords in the boxes and click on 'Search'
• The resulting list of articles will all be peer-reviewed
• To see the full text, you may have to scroll down and click on 'PDF' or 'HTML'