Program Guides: Marine Reference and Professional Organizations: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Dictionaries

Glossary of Marine Technology Terms
Created by the MT Society, this list links to explanations.
Glossary of Maritime Terms
Maintained by Ports and Ships out of Africa.
Nautical Nomenclature
A glossary of sailing terms maintained by the Kingdom Yachts Sailing Club.
Nautical Terms
Created and maintained by the National Marine Institute.
Schooner Man
Dictionary of Boating Sailing, Schooners, Naval, Ships, Boat and Seafaring Terms. (from the site)
Sea Talk Nautical Dictionary
The Dictionary of English Nautical Language: A comprehensive nautical dictionary, complete with usage, examples suggesting good seamanship, images of ships and gear and a nautical blog. SEATALK is a copyrighted reference work, owned by Mike MacKenzie.
Shipbuilding Picture Dictionary
Click on a link (such as heat exchangers) and find labeled illustrations.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Mathematics
Thousands of entries with explanations and sometimes diagrams.

What's a Dictionary?

1 : a reference source in print or electronic form containing words usually alphabetically arranged along with information about their forms, pronunciations, functions, etymologies, meanings, and syntactical and idiomatic uses
2 : a reference book listing alphabetically terms or names important to a particular subject or activity along with discussion of their meanings and applications

From Merriam-Webster's Online Dictionary